Alice Neel

I rented the Alice Neel film from Netflix this week and although I didn’t know anything about her the documentary was still interesting. She was a portrait painter who was never really recognized

for her talent or contributions to art during the years she painted. As an artist she wasn’t able to provide a stable life for her children as a single mother. It seemed her sons resented her a little for that or for the way they grew up. What I liked about her was that she never stopped painting. She never gave up what she loved doing.

“Whether I’m painting or not, I have this overweening interest in humanity. Even if I’m not working, I’m still analyzing people. “

“You should keep on painting no matter how difficult it is, because this is all part of experience, and the more experience you have, the better it is.. unless it kills you, and then you know you have gone too far.

If you are sufficiently tenacious, interested, you can accomplish what you want to accomplish in this world.”

 

2 thoughts on “Alice Neel

  1. Did you move your blog? I just realized I haven’t seen updates from you in a while, and then followed your link from your comment. Here you are! Lots of entries!! 🙂 I’m adding this to my Netflix queue. Can’t wait to see it.

Leave a Reply

