Why

About a year ago was the last time I sold a piece of art at a reduced rate. I post everything on Etsy and get between 4 and 28 views on most things. I have three larger pieces of art on rotation through an art agent/freelance curator who took an interest in my work.

Why bother if I can’t sell my art? Well I sort of take direction from signs that the universe or some other entities give me. I see things differently and I take that as a sign I should do something with that.

Sure some other people see things differently and they do art on the weekend or they don’t try to sell it and just keep it for themselves. I am all or nothing and so I am trying to do it all while also being a Mom to two girls and keeping them nurtured, safe and taken care of.

“The most precious gift we can offer others is our presence. When mindfulness embraces those we love, they will bloom like flowers.” -Thich Nhat Hanh

There was a listing for a job that I am completely qualified for and I thought that must be a sign that I should take it. There wasn’t any doubt about me not getting it but if I should do it. I thought about it and thought about it and I just don’t think I can have a full time job right now and put the kids in daycare even if it’s half a day. The summer is coming up or is already here and although they would get to play there they wouldn’t get 100 percent enjoyment out of playing during the summer in their own backyard everyday with their little pool and have popsicles an picking flowers and vegetables they have helped grow. So I think if this job were an actual sign it would be available again in the fall maybe.

The past few months I have had success with getting my art into a deck of cards and also being exhibited locally through an artist agent and freelance curator. I don’t want to give up after a few months because I haven’t sold anything. People who walk by a booth or look on Etsy totals about 70 views of certain pieces. Sometimes that’s not enough or someone sees something and then knows to come back to purchase it later. Well I hope maybe.

I did a craft fair on Friday and had a nice time although I didn’t sell anything. Lots of really nice comments and interest but no sales. There were no sales for other vendors either except the booth with brownies!

For next month I will take only prints and not originals as well as jewelry, maybe some candles and other crafty things. I sold three carved pendants for my friend that a boy bought with his allowance. I thought that was pretty cool.

I am working on some collages this week and don’t know if I will be able to share them because my usb cable is not working and I have no money to get a new one. I might share a video if I can get it together this week.

“An artist cannot fail; it is a success to be one.” — Albert Camus

This image is an art journal page from about two years ago. 🙂

Leave a Reply

