Art in the Heart

On August 6 -7 my friend Sara is selling some of my art in her booth with her gallery at Art in the Heart. This is an event in downtown Vancouver (wa) where all the galleries are open and additional art is in tents on Main Street and other area locales. I am excited to go to this and see everything and meet people.
We have several closet doors in the house that are not being used as in we took them off the hinges because they were a pain to use. I was thinking they would work if you hinged the doors together to display art. So I brought those over to my friend’s house yesterday. We went to the hardware store and marked the hinge positions but they have to be transported before the screws go in obviously. I will be at the booth on Saturday from 10 – 4 p.m. at 1015 Main Street.

There’s been a lot of build up about this event among some people and while at first I was excited about the potential, now I am more realistic about sales. I hope that I sell something but we will see. The economy is getting better and some people are buying some art. Those are the key words there “some people” “some or someone’s art” My art is more than affordable and priced too low, but I haven’t sold anything on Etsy, at a gallery show or otherwise for a year and a half or maybe longer. I don’t think one should keep track of these things.  Artists are giving up, they are moving away, they are closing a local gallery if it doesn’t make enough money in the next month. This is not good people. The world is not a pretty place without artists and their art in it. The event this weekend is going to draw thousands of people into downtown. Hopefully it will be wildly successful and fun!

I moved a lot of my painting stuff out into the garage again. I can’t paint indoors I realized because there’s not enough room for my mess! I even tried putting a rug down and that doesn’t work either. I am going to keep most everything else inside like most of my collage stuff, do das and what nots and stamps and sewing machine. 🙂 I am going to try to finish a few more pieces by Friday.

This is the tree or leaves painting which I got another to another point with and then digitally altered what I want it to look like a little more. This is a nice way to look at something without committing to it.

Hope you had a wonderful weekend where you are. Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Art in the Heart

  1. It definitely is hard for artists these days. I feel I’m painting better every day, but I have less sales to show for all the dedication. My prices are way too low, also..for all the time it takes. It is discouraging. But, I think you have the right attitude..realistic, but still hopeful. I’m not giving up yet, but at the same time, I don’t know how much longer I can afford to do this.

Leave a Reply

