Pagan nativity

I made a pagan nativity scene about three years ago and meant to create another one to offer for sale. I actually did it this year, well one set. The idea of this is exciting to me and likely offensive to others.

Before Christianity pagans celebrated the return of the Sun or the Sun God. Later came the idea that Jesus was born at this time of year in a manger. So instead of three wise men I decided I wanted the maiden, mother, and crone, the three elements of the Goddess. The mother Goddess gives birth to the God and the light starts to slowly return to us.

I painted the peg dolls, embellished them and made the baby a crib. I also include the broom and then made a cauldron out of polymer clay and wire for the crone.

One thought on “Pagan nativity

Leave a Reply

