Natural dye and fairyland

I am not that interested in dying fabrics or yarn since I don’t sew much anymore and I don’t knit or crochet. The idea of using natural dyes though has always been something that I am interested in learning more about. I would love to make a few wall hangings with dyed fabrics that I made and sewed together. From the library I got the book, Handbook of Natural Plant Dyes. I tried using calendula flowers and got a light yellow and then decided to add tumeric and that really kicked it up. The doll is drying too because Willow decided to wash her hair in the pool.

There is another book on Amazon I just found this morning while looking for huckleberry and salmonberry information. I want to go looking for huckleberries and am not sure of a place to go or how to distinguish the different berries either. I picked the oregon grape berries which I have used as a watercolor paint that makes a sort of pinkish purple hue when dry. the girls made a fairyland with the neighbor and they put some out for the fairies too. šŸ™‚

This is the second fairy installation Melody has done. She did a little garden out in the backyard first.

 

 

Leave a Reply

